Just the beginning

So, this is my first official blog post. I figured I will explain a little about why I decided to start blogging in the first place. I think we live in a world where no matter how connected we are, through social media, we all still feel alone. Most of us will not admit it. We feel alone even if we have a million followers, or we have a booked-up schedule with events and parties. Even when we have a family, friends, partners, kids, life is lonely. At the end of the day the only person inside your head is you. I cannot cure loneness but if I could help one person feel less alone than they did before that is more than I could asked for. As kid I was always told every feeling I had was wrong. Every thing I thought was wrong. The way the I looked, dressed, everything about me was wrong. I never wanted anyone to feel that way about themselves. Constantly trying to change everything about yourself to fit in. To be looked at as normal. I learned over the years that, that is not normal. I believe in letting my kids be who they are even if it’s not something I understand.

In my 30 years of being alive I have seen a lot. I have learned a lot. I have beat down every wall. I have failed more times than I have succeeded. I have been beaten and bruised by life repeatedly. I have fallen apart and picked myself back up. But I still wake up, put on a smile, and keep going like I was not just throw punched by the universe yet again. I want to be completely raw and honest about everything. Most days I am an over worked, under paid, mother of 2 (with one on the way), struggling with her own mentally illnesses, life, love, parenting, never ending struggle with finances, learning how to love herself and the crazy world around her. I am the same as you.

Beyond the mommy struggle is about so much more than just being a mom. We are more than mothers. We are providers, friends, sisters, daughters, girlfriends, wives, house keepers, schedule trackers, personal chiefs, drivers, voters, PTA participants, party planners, cheerleaders, therapists, teachers, the list goes on forever. My name is Susan, and this is my story. It is nice to meet you!

Leave a comment